PETULA SPEAKS TO ABS-CBN NEWS (PHILIPPINES)

 

Your fans are excited that you’re finally coming to the Philippines for a concert.

“You know, I’ve never been to the Philippines and I’m just as excited. It’s a first for me and I’m glad to hear that Filipinos are just as excited, too.”

What have you heard about the Philippines?

“Oh, I have Filipino acquaintances here in Switzerland, in the UK and in France. I heard that the Philippines is a beautiful country and that the Filipinos really love music.”

You are the first successful female artist to have come from England and you are said to define the term “international superstar.” How do you feel about it?

“Oh, I don’t know…I don’t know how I’m supposed to feel about it.

You know, I started singing when I was a child, at the age of about eight. It’s not like I became a star when I was 18.”

Was it hard to start a career at that age and last this long?

“I suppose to. I enjoyed singing when I was a child and I enjoy it now…just as much now, actually. You know, I did have some problems during my adolescence but I guess that every adolescent has problems. My problems were perhaps more difficult because I was growing up in public. But apart from that, no problem. I love singing and it’s a great joy to be able to do something that you like so much.”

You started at eight years old. Don’t you think that you missed part of your childhood?

“Let’s put it this way. I had a different childhood. I didn’t have a normal childhood; I don’t know what a normal childhood is. Childhood is a magic time and it happens very fast. Other children might have been going through the different stages of childhood and I must have been going through the same experience but only on a different level.”

Of course, your voice at age eight was different from your voice now. How do you adjust your vocal cords to the type of music you’re doing as you grew up?

“I really don’t know. But it seems that my voice hasn’t really changed since I was a child. It sounds the same to me and, I hope, to other people. I don’t think my voice has changed much at all. I still sing the same songs, like Downtown and Don’t Sleep in the Subway, in the same key as when I recorded them.”

Who influenced you to be a singer? Is anybody else in the family into singing?

“Not really. My mother was Welsh. I don’t know much about the Welsh people but I guess they are very, very musical. They love to sing, like the Italians. Tom Jones is Welsh, and so is Shirley Bassey. Among the actors, Anthony Hopkins is Welsh. You know, music is in our veins but I didn’t really come from a musical family at all.”

Would you remember the very first song that you ever learned how to sing?

“Yes, I do. It was a song called Mighty Like a Rose and, in fact, I first sang it when I was six years old. At age eight, I was already famous and I continued singing that song.”

In the ’60s, you became a superstar along with, among others, The Beatles.

“You know, I worked so hard on my career. I married a Frenchman and we moved to France, and I became France’s No. 1 singer. That was before 1964 when Downtown was recorded. The ’60s were a special time for me. The Beatles made it much easier for British singers to be played on the radio. Downtown became a hit in America and I did a lot of hits after that.”

Were your songs inspired by real life? You know, when you’re alone and life is making you lonely you can always go, downtown.

“You know, I have my downtimes as well like everybody else and in times like that, I take my mind away from it, and get out and see the rest of the world.”

Do you still go downtown?

(Laughs) “Oh yes, I do.”

When you look back at the ’60s and ’70s, what are your fondest memories?

“I have many, many fond memories. You know, they were wonderful years. They were also complicated years because, you know, I was married and I had two children then. We have now three children.

I was traveling all over the place and I was trying to be a good mother and a good performer. Luckily, I was working with amazing people.”

Do you listen to the new breed of singers? How different the singers today from those of your time?

“I think you know the answer to that. Hmmmm…You know, there are good and there are bad. There were good singers and bad singers then, and there are good singers and bad singers now. The world has changed a lot and so has the music industry and the people. People don’t seem to buy records as much as people back then did. That’s one thing I don’t like about it.”

You sang for the Allied Forces during World War II, earning you the title “Singing Sweetheart” for American soldiers abroad. Wasn’t it very risky singing near the frontline?

“Ahhh, I was never allowed to go on the frontline. There was another little girl who was also singing at that time. Her name is Julie Andrews.”

Oh, Julie Andrews! I interviewed her a few years ago in Hollywood for the movie Princess Diaries. She’s a very nice lady like you.

“Julie is a very, very, very nice lady. We used to perform for the troops but in different camps.”

Were you rivals?

“Hmmm…We were not exactly rivals. We both just like to sing.” (Adding with a laugh) “But I think our parents were rivals.”

You also appeared in movies, one of them Finian’s Rainbow, with Peter O’Toole as co-star, for which you got an Oscar nomination. And you did Broadway (Sound of Music, etc.), too. Do you consider yourself more of a singer than as an actress?

“I enjoy acting as much as I enjoy singing. As a little girl, I also wanted to be an actress; I didn’t think of myself as being a singer. Singing and acting are very closely related. When I’m doing a show, it’s wonderful because I have to act and feel what I am singing. To me, that’s perfection. When I do a concert, as I am doing in Manila, every show is like a play in my mind. So I use acting when I sing and vice-versa.”

Petula, when you come to Manila, please sing your old songs. We’d love to hear them all over again. (Such as Love This is My Song, I Know a Place, I Couldn’t Live Without Your Love, A Sign of the Times, Kiss Me Goodbye and many others.)

“Oh yes, I will.”

I understand that you live in Geneva. How’s your life in Geneva?

“My family has been away in Turkey and I was left home with the dogs. To be honest with you, I don’t really live here; I go to many different places. Geneva is a nice place to come back to when you’re away for long. It’s a very relaxing place.”

What do you do to relax? Do you listen to music?

“I write music. I play the piano. By the way, can you tell me…does everybody speak very good English in the Philippines?”

Oh yes. English is our second language.

“Oh, that’s good because during a concert I also love to talk. It’s not just about singing, it’s about talking to the audience. I’m really looking forward to performing in the Philippines.”

What have you been busy with these days, aside from doing concerts?

“That’s about it. I did a UK tour at the beginning of summer. I’ve been writing, writing, writing. I also spend time in the French Alps where we have a house. After Manila, I’ll be in Vancouver, then New York and then Rome.”

Where are your children?

“Well, we are a very unusual family. We’re not always together. I have a daughter who lives in New York. She has two beautiful children. I have another daughter who lives in Paris; she’s not married. Last night, I had dinner with my son who got married three weeks ago; he lives in Geneva. We are living in different places, all right, but we try to see each other as often as we can. We are probably a much closer family than most people I know.”

Did you sing your children to sleep when they were kids?

“Yes, I did. I wish I could do the same thing to my grandchildren. They think I’m a pretty cool grandmother because I usually ride around in limousines and they see me singing in fine hotels. I’m not the usual grandmother.”

Petula, what song do you want to be remembered for?

“Ahhh…that’s difficult. Let me think…Tony Bennett is best remembered for I Left My Heart in San Francisco. Yes, I want to be remembered for Downtown.”

14 Responses

  1. As ever and its been the same since the 1950s. Petula when interviewed is always humble and never shouting her mouth off about herself, she always comes across as a truly decent person with a good heart.My admiration for her just grows endlessly especially when you see and hear the loudmouths and big headed individuals that make up a lot of the music scene today.
    Petula is the true star who always shines the brightest.Joseph

  2. I cannot understand why Petula isnt given more recoqnition in the Uk. Why isnt Petula a dame? why isnt she headlining the Royal variety Show etc. Is it a sign of the times!
    Paul

  3. Paul, I have asked myself that question over and over again, PETULA was a child star. taken to the nations heart in Wartime, an actress.hitmaker in the 40s and 50s as a singer too, she stormed and congured Europe scoring hita all over the World in French, German, Italian,English and even Spanish.She is the longest artiste for Chart activity in singles and albums charts, from june 1954 to yuly 2008.
    Petula became the first pop British Female to top the USA charts and score many years of hits there too, Petula is also a great broadway star and west end star here in the UK. I won’t even mention what she has done for many charities, BUT There’s no scandal to PETULA, she isn’t a loudmouth, she doesn’t use foul language, she doesn’t act common she does what she does and loves it and always has been the most accessible BIG star to her fans from the 50s.
    It seems the politicians and Royals want people who swear loads even in female company and also to have people who are big mouthed and very loud about themseleves to be held up as those worthy of tiles, the great thing about PETULA is she wouldn’t say she was due any title. The one she would most like is the one that is hers anyway. THE TRULY FIRST LADY OF SONG, from the 50s and even up to the present.I am disgusted when honours lists come out because it is all for those making the biggest noise in the arts. Petula should have it for her achievements worldwide,one day maybe someone who decides these honours will finally do the right thing by PETULA.
    Joseph

  4. sorry made a few errors in typing that last message but I’m sure you know what I am saying. Joseph.

  5. It stuns me that Petula isn’t as recognised in the UK as she appears to be in other countries. I know there’s always a wonderful show of respect here whenever she’s interviewed here but there’s always something lacking. It’s as if she’s not seen as a serious artist. Not seen as a song writer.

    Whilst she was recently promoting Then & Now no one asked about her song writing (not that I saw anyway) and how come she wasn’t interviewed in the various UK music magazines?

    I’d love a lenghthy interview with her about her song writing, how she approaches a song (which she has spoken about whilst on stage), why she sometimes used a ‘pen name’ in the early days…

    As someone relatively new to Petula’s career I’m still incredibly hungry to learn more about her as a writer and such. I would also like to know why she gave up acting.

    So many questions… sorry

  6. With regard to Petula being made a Dame.I saw petula being interviewed by Alan Tidmarsh on a Afternoon show last year.He bought that subject up.Petulas reply was “Iam quite alright as I am.Thankyou”.Now I dont know how these honour things work.But on hearing Petulas comments it got me thinking Perhaps she has been offered a Damehood but turned it down.It would answer the question why she is not a Dame.Especially when you consider the likes of Vera Lynn.Bassey Andrews have been Dames for years.

  7. I don’t think Petula gave up acting she has just not been offered parts she wanted to do,and as i doubt if she actively looks for roles I guess no-one thinks to ask her which is a pity.

  8. All in all, it was an enchanting evening, it was an experience—when songs were purely music and lyrics, in all their simplicity, no high tech gadgetry, a piano accompaniment would do, the effects magical. This was the Petula Clark…Downtown! concert, which I attended last night with my sister-in-law and her husband at the Manila Hotel’s Tent City.

    Petula Clark at 76 years of age was simply amazing—she could still hit her notes, high as they sometimes were, and had the stamina of singing continuously for an hour. She played the piano, too, while belting some of her favorite songs. She had a repertoire of songs that climbed the charts and broke records in the 60s, a song by Paul McCartney of the Beatles, and songs created by Charlie Chaplin and Andrew Lloyd Weber. Some of the songs were: You and I, This is My Song, Kiss Me Good-bye, I Bless the Day I Found You, Smile (even though your heart is breaking), Don’t Sleep in the Subway, and of course, Downtown, and many more.

    You may see more in: http://dine.racoma.com.ph/fun/petula-clarkdowntown-at-the-manila-hotel/

  9. Thank you for your reply Mike.

    I hadn’t thought of that being a reason. It’s actually rather obvious now you’ve mentioned it. I wonder if because of Petula’s persona being friendly, kind and nice has meant that film directors & producers haven’t thought of her a serious actress? Or even seen her as ‘just a singer’ – which is very unjust as from what I’ve seen of her acting she’s rather convincing.

    I never saw her in Blood Brothers but that role would have seen Petula as tough, vulnerable and emotionally demanding so I’m sure Petula would have been rather fantastic in more dramatic film roles.

    Although looking over what Petula has done over the years it would have been impossible for her to find the time to fit a film in. The woman must have felt like she was a robot at times.

  10. i saw Petula cry real tears in Blood Bothers on Broadway in 1993 and we know how well she acted in Sunset Boulevard too..trouble is there are not many roles for ladies of a certain age.,and Judi Dench seems to get them all!We can live in hope something might turn up out of the blue,but Petula usually needs to be persuaded!!

  11. Sadly I didn’t see her in Sunset as I wasn’t a fan then (!) and have only recently seen her on stage for the first time but from what I have seen she would have been amazing in both. Maybe they’ve been recorded so they’ll get a DVD release one day. Although it’s not the same as seeing it for real.

    I was watching Will & Grace the other night and there was a ‘wicked’ English housekeeper in it and I thought Petula would have been fantastic in the role as it was light and rather funny.

    From what I can tell by various interviews Petula lacks confidence in her ablilities and wouldn’t think she could pull off certain things so I’m sure she’d need a lot of persuasion.

  12. Personally I think a film of SUNSET BOULEVARD with PETULA in the starring role obviously, is a big hole in the arts industry that there isn’t one. I saw PETULA many times in LONDON when she was starring in it and to say anything other than that she was awesome would be to heavily underestimate her performance.
    It was,IS, one of those great musical and very dramatic roles that she possibly really craved for despite her misgivings on doing it in the first place.
    Petula has always seemed to not want a regular TV comedy/soap/presenting role although as a child she had PETS PARLOUR on the radio.
    I think that is what is so special about her and that really you never know what could come next, even now, PETULA still has amazing energy, a powerhouse voice with still the perfect clear diction that was her trademark. It could still be a special something special waits round a corner and suddenly out of the blue a big event takes place again in her amazing career.
    It is also that great way of her carrer where her achievements have been happening and records set in a quiet fashion that in my view, whether she wants it or not,should see her as a Dame, because in the World of song WORLDWIDE, Britain has NEVER and will likely never have again such a wonderful example of the humblest and most decent person to be an Ambassador of Britain.
    I do take Steve’s point too, PETULA always from early on had comedy in her live performances, MY NAME IS PETULA being a highlight for many years, that a comedy role would be great for her too.
    As he says she may well need a lot of persuasion but her career history shows she CAN be persuaded by the right people.
    I also think Mike is 100% correct in his comments on PETULA. Hopefully someone can suggest something to her that would make her say ‘I’ll do it’, as with SOUND OF MUSIC, BLOOD BROTHERS and SUNSET BOULEVARD.
    Would I be right Mike in saying that PETULA has in fact overall been the longest performer of Norma Desmond in SUNSET BOULEVARD?
    We can only wait,see and hope.Joseph.

  13. Just back from Las Vegas. My Brother and I were lucky enough to be on the same Virgin Atlantic flight as Petula, flying out from Gatwick. Petula suggested we meet for a chat during the 10 hour flight. We were seated on the upper deck and Petula came up to pay us a visit in our Premium Economy section. There were just 40 seats on the upper deck so it was quiet and cozy. She looked amazing.

    Her concert was an open air event . The sun was just going down as she took centre stage, it was a warm night with temperatures in the high 80’s. There were a handful of fans present who had flown over from England and also a group of USA regulars.

    Her song list :

    Who am I

    12th of never

    Subway

    This is my Song

    People get ready

    I know a place

    Look to the rainbow

    Sign of the times

    Heavens door

    Your’e the one

    Colour my world

    La vie en rose

    Losing my mind

    With one look

    Tell me it’s not true

    Memphis

    Love medley

    Downtown

    I couldn’t live without your love

    It was an amazing evening .After the standing ovation , Petula met with her fans in her dressing room. She told me how much she had enjoyed Vegas and that she had been swimming and relaxing in her lovely Hotel pool . A few days later Petula faced a 16 hour flight to the Phillippines.

    Robert

  14. We saw Petula in concert in Vancouver. She was amazing! She announced that she will be in Rome in three weeks; the same time that we will be there. I would love to see her again but I cannot find out the precise date and place where Petula will perform. Please can someone help me? Thank you. She was wonderful!

Leave a comment