GOODBYE, MR. CHIPS – Coming To DVD – January 27th, 2009

On January 27, 2009 Warner Home Video will make sure Cupids everywhere have their choice of inspiration with the introduction of two different groups of highly demanded, all new-to-DVD romantic film favorites.

The magnificent Peter O’Toole earned a Best Actor Oscar® nomination, and won a Golden Globe® Best Actor award for his portrayal of the title role in this 1969 musical adaptation of the famed James Hilton novel. O’Toole and his leading lady Petula Clark are a beguiling romantic duo taking on the roles first established on the screen by Robert Donat and Greer Garson in 1939 original. Herbert Ross (The Turning Point, The Goodbye Girl) directed the Terrence Rattigan screenplay which is embellished by the memorable music and lyrics of Leslie Bricusse (Stop the World, I Want to Get Off). This release presents the film in its original full-length roadshow version.

10 Responses

  1. Wonderful news! (What took them so long?)

    I love the wink.

  2. Great film, just a bit too long but I thought PETULA in particular was outstanding in this film.

    At last it is going to be available om DVD. GREAT NEWS.Joseph

  3. Great news,its been a long time coming. Now what would really make my day is the orginal sound track to Petulas Sound of Music being released on CD.

    best wishes
    Paul

  4. Totally agree Paul, the real MARIA VON TRAPP said that Petula’s performance in that was ‘the best’, and I think many of the songs took on a whole new depth to them thanks to PETULA’S voice. She turned ‘THE SOUND OF MUSIC’ title track into a classic piece of work from just a show tune from a musical.

    I still play that album loads,it should have been released ages ago.Joseph.

  5. Looking forward to the film release!
    Petula could reprise ‘London is London’ at the opening ceremony of the 2012 games!

    There were rumours about the SOM release when ‘…..Argentina.’ came out but haven’t heard anything since.

  6. I was only talking about this film yesterday so it’s rather spooky that it’s getting a release soon. I don’t recall seeing it on television as a child so it will be a pleasure to watch the DVD.

    Also rather bizarrely I was also talking about The Sound Of Music and saying how I’d love Petula’s version. Having heard a couple of her renditions of the classic songs I would love to hear the full soundtrack. I have to say that I think her version of the title song, The Sound Of Music, is outstanding. Petula’s voice is incredible and crystal clear and by the far the best version I have ever heard.

    Steve.

  7. I agree wonderful news, but it has taken long enough, I can’t wait, what a pity that we can not enjoy it over the Christmas holiday, never mind January 27th not far away. Now bring on the SOM.

  8. Looking forward to this latest release. It was a beautiful film, in part because the producer decided to withhold quite a few of the musical numbers, using them as background where appropriate, and the movie was so well made it stood up nicely as a drama.

  9. Does anyone know why the SOM as not been released on CD? are there plans too? Does anyone have any Petula news updates?
    Best wishes
    Paul

  10. wonderful film and lovestory made romantically by the wonnderful flexibility and talent of Petula as an actor; and the anngelic voice she has. Her music and DVD’s have been more beneficial than the anti-depressannnts I take. I just wish that I could send her a direct message.any ideas?

Leave a comment